Double Blue Banquet and Awards

The 2016 Double Blue took place on Saturday, November 19 in the Henley Room. This is the time of year to celebrate and applaud our achievements as a rowing club.


Awards will be given to an Oarsman, an Oarswoman, a Crew of Year (Hammond Cup), a Coxswain and the Volunteer of the Year Award. Multiple Golden Fleece awards will be given out to rowing members who are outstanding role models in their programs – Juniors, Masters, Para, Recreation, and Seniors. Golden Fleece awards are special for those who make the club better as a result of their strong spirit and by helping others.


On the evening of Saturday, November 19, 2016, members of the Argonaut Rowing Club will gather at the annual Double Blue Banquet to celebrate our collective success and many individual accomplishments of the 2016 rowing season.

2016 AWARD Categories

Oarsman and Oarswoman of the Year

Presented to a male and female rower, who achieved notable race results in the double blue colours making finals and winning medals during the 2016 rowing season (April to October). In addition to success in summer and fall races, he and she is distinguished among fellow crew members for leadership as a role model, willing to help others and contributes to the advancement of club programs.

2016 Winners: Roxanna Dehghan, Robert Blunt

Coxwain of the Year

Presented to a coxswain who successfully coxed crews to notable results at regattas during the 2016 rowing season. The deserving coxswain has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to improving the rowing and racing skills of his or her crews during preparation and training sessions as well as developing their own coxswain skills. The coxie of the year has distinguished him/herself by helping others and making a contribution to advance other programs at the club.

2016 Winner: Eden Cooper-Squires

The Hammond Cup – Crew of the Year

One of the oldest awards of the Club, first given out in 1904 to the crew winning the Argonaut Club regatta. Named after John Hammond, a prominent Toronto banker and rowing member, the award will be presented to crew of athletes (eight, four, double) that exemplify “crew” values; the sum of the athletes greater than any one individual. A crew
winning this award had excellent race results in 2016 and enhanced the reputation of ARC.

2016 Winners: U17 Men’s 8+ and U17 Women’s 8+ – Eden Cooper-Squires, Danya Assaf, Jackie Blunt, Jessica Code, Elizabeth Fletcher, Alexandra Freeman, Anushka Tintor, Keely O’Brien, Gillian Thompson, Liam Foyle, Ian Grenville, Dane Halkiw, Basil Jancso-Szabo, Marc Macaulay, Joseph Peers, Quinten Schmidt, Sam Zimbel

Jim Millar Award – Volunteer of the Year

For many years, during the glory days, Jim Millar was a fixture in the boat bays, in the workshop and did whatever needed doing around the club. He worked very tirelessly to make sure boats were in good shape, and everyone could row to their potential. The award named after Jim Miller is given to an Argonaut who has gone above and beyond in a volunteer capacity at the club for many to enjoy our sport.

2016 Winner: Karen Lightheart

Golden Fleece Awards

Individuals who are rowing leaders within their program (Juniors, Masters, Development, Recreation, Senior, Para) by improving their performances over the season while at the same time being a supportive member of a crew or program. From trailer loading to attending club events and projects, cheering crews along, these people are known for demonstrating their strong club spirit, role models and helping others.

2016 Winners: Jennifer Grochochinski, Elliot Hall, Rowan Rockley, Shona Rowan, Amelia Stier, Liam Vukasinovic, Hillary Watt, Helen Weston.

Prior years award winners